Prof. Sahasrabudhe reappointed AICTE chairman

“Technical education in India contributes a major share to the overall education system and plays a vital role in the social and economic development of our nation.”

In accordance with the provisions of the AICTE Act (1987), for the first five years after its inception in 1988, the Minister for Human Resource Development, the Government of India, was the Chairman of the Council. The first full-time Chairman was appointed on July 2, 1993, and the Council was reconstituted in March 1994 with a term of three years.


The central government has renewed the appointment of Prof D Sahasrabudhe as the chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Prof. Anil Dattatraya Sahasrabudhe, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati joined All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) as Chairman on 17th July 2015.

The union government has renewed the appointment of Prof Anil D Sahasrabudhe as the chairman of the technical and professional education regulator at All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the renewal of appointment of Prof. Sahasrabudhe till he attains the age of 65 years, an order issued by the Personnel Ministry said.

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe completed his Graduation from BVB College of Engineering and Technology, Hubli affiliated to Karnataka University, Dharwad in 1980. Subsequently, he obtained Master’s and Doctoral (with UGC Fellowship) degrees from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore in 1982 and 1989 respectively.

Before joining College of Engineering, Pune (CoEP), being a member faculty at IIT Guwahati he served for 11 years( December 1995-August 2006). He worked as a lecturer at NERIST, Itanagar from January 1987 -December 1995 almost 9 years. as the director of CoEP from August 2006-July 2015.

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe in his illustrious career of 31 years held several important Academic, Research, and Administrative positions. He started his career as Scientific Officer, at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1983 and moved to Tata Consulting Engineers (TCE) as Engineer in the same year.

He served as Lecturer and Assistant Professor at North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology (NERIST), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh) from 1987-1988 & again from 1989-1995, before joining IIT Guwahati as Associate Professor in 1995 and has been serving as Professor since 1999. Also, he served as Director, College of Engineering, Pune (CoEP) since 2006 on deputation from IIT, Guwahati prior to joining as AICTE Chairman.

As an Academician and Researcher in NERIST and IIT Guwahati, and as an Administrator in the capacity of Director, CoEP, he has taken up several new initiatives for Academic, Curricular & Co-curricular activities, Entrepreneurship, Research and Good Governance.

ALSO READ: Report says higher placement and internship in last 5 years for engineers

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe is presently working as Chairman & Expert Member on various National Level Committees. Some of these include; Chairman, Basic Scientific Research (BSR), Empowered Committee of UGC, SWAYAM Board and Chairman BOG of NIT Itanagar. As a Member/Fellow, he is actively involved in the activities of many Professional Bodies/Societies, such as ISTE, ASME, ASEE, ASI, IET, Institution of Engineers (IE).

He was awarded “Maha-Intrapreneur Award-2011” of Praj Industries, Pune for his Leadership and Innovative abilities in the area of Technology Development and Entrepreneurship initiatives.

A key message from Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe “The transformation of Indian education dates back to it being the pioneer in the 800 BCS where undivided India had global institutions, whereas the deterioration began with the ages of modernization and industrialization.”

Campus Sigma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *